LanguageEnglishالعربية

Publication fee waivers for authors in Sudan

A corresponding author in Sudan pays nothing at Wiley and half the fee at Taylor & Francis for the same paper. Nobody tells you this at submission.

Publisher policies checked 1 August 2026

In Sudan, the publisher you choose changes the bill

100%Wiley
50%Taylor & Francis

Eligibility is read from the corresponding author's affiliation. Neither publisher applies these reductions to hybrid journals.

Every publisher we have checked

PublisherFor Sudan HybridHow it is applied
ElsevierResearch4LifeNot statedNoAutomatic
WileyResearch4LifeNo feeNoAutomatic
Taylor & FrancisWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceiling50% offNoRequest required
Springer NatureWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceilingNot statedNot statedRequest required
SageResearch4Life; some journals use World Bank income levels insteadNot statedNoAutomatic
IOP PublishingWorld Bank income classNot statedYesAutomatic or on request
PLOSResearch4LifeNot statedNot statedAutomatic through the Global Equity agreement
Oxford University PressResearch4Life, EIFL and government affordability metricsNot statedNoAutomatic
American Physical SocietyResearch4LifeNo feeYesAutomatic
American Chemical SocietyWorld Bank income class$965–$1,750NoAutomatic
AIP PublishingResearch4Life + World BankNo feeNoAutomatic
Optica Publishing GroupOwn country listNo feeNot statedAutomatic
FrontiersNeed-basedRequest requiredn/a (OA)Fee support form
Copernicus PublicationsResearch4Life + EEDNo feen/a (OA)Automatic
The Royal SocietyOpen Access EquityNo feeYesAutomatic
Microbiology SocietyEIFLNo feeYesAutomatic
De Gruyter BrillWorld Bank + EIFL80% offPartialAutomatic
JMIR PublicationsWorld BankNo fee (all authors)n/a (OA)Request required
KargerCountry incomeRequest requiredNoRequest required
ThiemeResearch4LifeNo feeNoRequest required
American Society for MicrobiologyResearch4LifeNo feeNot statedAutomatic
Mary Ann LiebertResearch4LifeCase-by-caseNoRequest required
Portland PressResearch4LifeNo feeNot statedAutomatic
Emerald PublishingWorld BankNo feeNoAutomatic
Wolters KluwerR4L / InstitutionalInstitutional onlyNot statedInstitutional agreement
AACRWorld BankFull or partialYesGeographic / case-by-case
eLifeCase-by-caseTypically coveredn/a (OA)Request required
PensoftIncome + career stageVaries by journaln/a (OA)Request required
Royal Society of ChemistryResearch4LifeDiscretionaryNot statedRequest required
Company of BiologistsResearch4LifeAvailableNoAutomatic / institutional
Bristol University PressResearch4LifeAvailableNot statedNot stated
EDP SciencesResearch4LifeAvailableNot statedR4L alignment

Seven publishers publish a policy but not a country list. We record the rule and link to the source rather than guess which countries it covers.

No-fee journals published in Sudan

The Directory of Open Access Journals lists no journal whose publisher is based in Sudan (checked 16 October 2026). For authors here, a waiver or a no-fee journal published elsewhere is the realistic route — see journals that charge nothing.

Three things that catch authors out

The waiver follows the corresponding author, not the paper

If a co-author abroad is listed as corresponding, the reduction is lost — even when the research and every other author sit in Sudan. At Elsevier it goes further: all authors must be in the same group, and a mix of Group A and Group B authors brings a full waiver down to 50%.

Hybrid journals are excluded almost everywhere

Few publishers extend waivers to hybrid titles: IOP Publishing and the American Physical Society say explicitly that theirs do. Elsewhere the reduction usually applies to fully open access journals only, or the policy does not say. In a hybrid journal you can still publish at no cost under the subscription route — the article simply will not be open access.

Two publishers make you ask

Wiley, Sage, Elsevier and PLOS apply the reduction automatically. Taylor & Francis and Springer Nature require a request at submission. An author who waits for the system to notice pays in full.

Want us to check which journals waive the fee for authors in Sudan? Free manual check. Ask for the free check →

Related

Where the two lists disagree35 countries All countries110 profiles Publisher policies side by side48 policies How we check thisMethod

Sources for this page

Wiley
Wiley — Open Access Waivers and Discounts — checked 1 August 2026
T&F
Taylor & Francis — Eligible countries — checked 1 August 2026
—
Fully open access journals. Hybrid titles are noted separately in the table.
—
Where a publisher does not publish a country list, we say so instead of inferring one.

Compare publisher policies

Waiver rules differ between publishers — who counts as the eligible author, whether hybrid journals are included, and whether you need to apply or it happens automatically.

ALL PUBLISHER POLICIES →