Publication fee waivers for authors in Pakistan
Wiley applies a 50% reduction for corresponding authors in Pakistan. Taylor & Francis does not list Pakistan at all.
Publisher policies checked 1 August 2026
Pakistan is covered by Wiley, not by Taylor & Francis
Eligibility is read from the corresponding author's affiliation. Neither publisher applies these reductions to hybrid journals.
Every publisher we have checked
| Publisher | For Pakistan | Hybrid | How it is applied |
|---|---|---|---|
| ElsevierResearch4Life | Not stated | No | Automatic |
| WileyResearch4Life | 50% off | No | Automatic |
| Taylor & FrancisWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceiling | Not listed | No | Request required |
| Springer NatureWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceiling | Not stated | Not stated | Request required |
| SageResearch4Life; some journals use World Bank income levels instead | Not stated | No | Automatic |
| IOP PublishingWorld Bank income class | Not stated | Yes | Automatic or on request |
| PLOSResearch4Life | Not stated | Not stated | Automatic through the Global Equity agreement |
| Oxford University PressResearch4Life, EIFL and government affordability metrics | Not stated | No | Automatic |
| American Physical SocietyResearch4Life | Reduced | Yes | Automatic |
| American Chemical SocietyWorld Bank income class | $965–$1,750 | No | Automatic |
| AIP PublishingResearch4Life + World Bank | Case-by-case | No | Request required |
| FrontiersNeed-based | Request required | n/a (OA) | Fee support form |
| Copernicus PublicationsResearch4Life | No fee | n/a (OA) | Automatic |
| The Royal SocietyOpen Access Equity | No fee | Yes | Automatic |
| De Gruyter BrillWorld Bank + EIFL | 30% off | Partial | Automatic |
| JMIR PublicationsWorld Bank | Discount (all authors) | n/a (OA) | Request required |
| KargerCountry income | Request required | No | Request required |
| ThiemeResearch4Life | 50% off | No | Request required |
| Mary Ann LiebertResearch4Life Group B | 50% off | No | Request required |
| Portland PressResearch4Life | Discount | Not stated | Request required |
| Emerald PublishingWorld Bank | 50% off | No | Automatic |
| Wolters KluwerR4L / Institutional | Institutional only | Not stated | Institutional agreement |
| AACRWorld Bank | Partial | Yes | Geographic / case-by-case |
| eLifeCase-by-case | Typically covered | n/a (OA) | Request required |
| PensoftIncome + career stage | Varies by journal | n/a (OA) | Request required |
| Royal Society of ChemistryResearch4Life | Discretionary | Not stated | Request required |
| Company of BiologistsResearch4Life | Available | No | Automatic / institutional |
| Bristol University PressResearch4Life | Available | Not stated | Not stated |
| EDP SciencesResearch4Life | Available | Not stated | R4L alignment |
Seven publishers publish a policy but not a country list. We record the rule and link to the source rather than guess which countries it covers.
No-fee journals published in Pakistan
DOAJ lists 202 open access journals whose publisher is based in Pakistan. 96 of them charge authors nothing — no APC and no other fees; 104 charge an APC; 2 do not state the fees. The longest-running no-fee titles:
| Journal | Open access since | Weeks to publication |
|---|---|---|
| JISR on ComputingInformation technology · EN | 2003 | 24 |
| JISR Management and Social Sciences & EconomicsEconomic theory · EN | 2003 | 56 |
| Market ForcesCommerce · EN | 2005 | 20 |
| Business ReviewBusiness · EN | 2006 | 18 |
| Soil & EnvironmentAgriculture (General) · EN | 2006 | 4 |
Publisher country, fees, start year and weeks from submission to publication as each journal states them in its DOAJ record (CC0), read 16 October 2026. Where a journal is published says nothing about who may submit, and a DOAJ listing is not an indexing or quality ranking; check each journal's author guidelines. Confirm the fee on the journal's own site before you submit.
Three things that catch authors out
The waiver follows the corresponding author, not the paper
If a co-author abroad is listed as corresponding, the reduction is lost — even when the research and every other author sit in Pakistan. At Elsevier it goes further: all authors must be in the same group, and a mix of Group A and Group B authors brings a full waiver down to 50%.
Hybrid journals are excluded almost everywhere
Few publishers extend waivers to hybrid titles: IOP Publishing and the American Physical Society say explicitly that theirs do. Elsewhere the reduction usually applies to fully open access journals only, or the policy does not say. In a hybrid journal you can still publish at no cost under the subscription route — the article simply will not be open access.
Two publishers make you ask
Wiley, Sage, Elsevier and PLOS apply the reduction automatically. Taylor & Francis and Springer Nature require a request at submission. An author who waits for the system to notice pays in full.
What authors in Pakistan can use
Checked on publishers’ and national bodies’ own pages, 3 October 2026
Pakistan is in Research4Life Group B, so publishers that follow Research4Life give discounts rather than full waivers.
Automatic reductions
- Wiley: 50% in fully open access journals.
- Elsevier: 50% in fully open access journals when every author is from a Group B country, or from a mix of Group A and Group B countries.
- Sage: 50% in gold open access journals.
- Oxford University Press: 25% in fully open access journals.
- Cambridge University Press: open access fully funded in its gold and hybrid journals (Open Equity Initiative).
- PLOS: free in PLOS Biology, PLOS Medicine and PLOS Sustainability and Transformation for authors without external funding.
Pilots and requests
- Springer Nature is not on its waiver lists for Pakistan, but authors pay 25% of the APC in the 64 journals of its country-tiered pilot, including some BMC journals.
- Elsevier’s pricing pilot (about 300 gold open access journals) charges authors in Pakistan 20% of the list APC.
- Taylor & Francis: not on its country lists; a discretionary request is possible at submission.
- MDPI has no country-based waiver. Frontiers offers partial fee support by application.
HEC journal categories
HEC’s current Journals and Publications Policy (2024, Version 2.0, amended from 5 November 2025) has three categories, W, X and Y. There is no Z category any more.
- W: Web of Science core collection (SCIE, SSCI, AHCI).
- X: Web of Science ESCI, plus Pakistani Scopus journals that meet extra criteria.
- Y: includes DOAJ-indexed journals that are not in Web of Science or Scopus.
To check a Pakistan-based journal, use HEC’s list of recognised national journals valid from 1 April 2026 to 31 December 2027; the HJRS site (hjrs.hec.gov.pk) was unavailable when we checked. HEC does not recognise a journal that is on the Cabells predatory list. Recognised journals may charge fees if they disclose them, and the NRPU grant budget template allows a journal publication fee of up to Rs 50,000.
Free-to-publish journals from Pakistan
DOAJ lists 192 journals published in Pakistan; 98 of them charge neither an APC nor any other fee.
Sources for this section
- Research4Life — Eligibility
- Wiley — Open access waivers and discounts
- Elsevier — Open access choice and Research4Life discounts
- Elsevier — Pricing and Geographical Pricing for Open Access
- Sage — Gold open access article processing charges
- Oxford University Press — APC waiver policy
- Cambridge University Press — Cambridge Open Equity Initiative
- PLOS — Fees
- Springer Nature — Country-tiered APC pilot
- Taylor & Francis — Eligible countries for APC waivers
- MDPI — Article processing charges
- Frontiers — Fee support
- HEC — Journals and publications
- HEC — Journals FAQ
- DOAJ — Directory of Open Access Journals (data export of 1 July 2026)
Want us to check which journals waive the fee for authors in Pakistan? Free manual check. Ask for the free check →
Related
Sources for this page
- Wiley
- Wiley — Open Access Waivers and Discounts — checked 1 August 2026
- T&F
- Taylor & Francis — Eligible countries — checked 1 August 2026
- —
- Fully open access journals. Hybrid titles are noted separately in the table.
- —
- Where a publisher does not publish a country list, we say so instead of inferring one.
- No-fee journals
- DOAJ journal records (CC0), read 16 October 2026
Compare publisher policies
Waiver rules differ between publishers — who counts as the eligible author, whether hybrid journals are included, and whether you need to apply or it happens automatically.
ALL PUBLISHER POLICIES →