Publication fee waivers for authors in Iran
Neither Wiley nor Taylor & Francis lists Iran. Wiley removed it from its automatic waiver list between 27 July and 7 September 2026.
Wiley’s list read again 11 October 2026; other publishers checked 1 August 2026
Update, 3 October 2026: Wiley no longer lists Iran
Archived copies of Wiley’s waiver page show Iran on its automatic waiver list on 27 July 2026; by 7 September 2026 it had gone, and it is not on Wiley’s live page, which we read again on 11 October 2026. This page and the Wiley counts across the site now reflect that. On 3 October 2026 none of the eleven publishers we checked gave authors in Iran an automatic country waiver.
Iran is on neither Wiley’s nor Taylor & Francis’s list
Eligibility is read from the corresponding author's affiliation. Neither publisher applies these reductions to hybrid journals.
Every publisher we have checked
| Publisher | For Iran | Hybrid | How it is applied |
|---|---|---|---|
| ElsevierResearch4Life | Not stated | No | Automatic |
| WileyResearch4Life | Not listed | No | Automatic |
| Taylor & FrancisWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceiling | Not listed | No | Request required |
| Springer NatureWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceiling | Not stated | Not stated | Request required |
| SageResearch4Life; some journals use World Bank income levels instead | Not stated | No | Automatic |
| IOP PublishingWorld Bank income class | Not stated | Yes | Automatic or on request |
| PLOSResearch4Life | Not stated | Not stated | Automatic through the Global Equity agreement |
| Oxford University PressResearch4Life, EIFL and government affordability metrics | Not stated | No | Automatic |
| American Physical SocietyResearch4Life | Reduced | Yes | Automatic |
| American Chemical SocietyWorld Bank income class | $965–$1,750 | No | Automatic |
| AIP PublishingResearch4Life + World Bank | Case-by-case | No | Request required |
| FrontiersNeed-based | Request required | n/a (OA) | Fee support form |
| Copernicus PublicationsResearch4Life | No fee | n/a (OA) | Automatic |
| The Royal SocietyOpen Access Equity | No fee | Yes | Automatic |
| De Gruyter BrillWorld Bank + EIFL | 30% off | Partial | Automatic |
| JMIR PublicationsWorld Bank | Discount (all authors) | n/a (OA) | Request required |
| KargerCountry income | Request required | No | Request required |
| ThiemeResearch4Life | 50% off | No | Request required |
| Mary Ann LiebertResearch4Life Group B | 50% off | No | Request required |
| Portland PressResearch4Life | Discount | Not stated | Request required |
| Emerald PublishingWorld Bank | 50% off | No | Automatic |
| Wolters KluwerR4L / Institutional | Institutional only | Not stated | Institutional agreement |
| AACRWorld Bank | Partial | Yes | Geographic / case-by-case |
| eLifeCase-by-case | Typically covered | n/a (OA) | Request required |
| PensoftIncome + career stage | Varies by journal | n/a (OA) | Request required |
| Royal Society of ChemistryResearch4Life | Discretionary | Not stated | Request required |
| Company of BiologistsResearch4Life | Available | No | Automatic / institutional |
| Bristol University PressResearch4Life | Available | Not stated | Not stated |
| EDP SciencesResearch4Life | Available | Not stated | R4L alignment |
Seven publishers publish a policy but not a country list. We record the rule and link to the source rather than guess which countries it covers.
No-fee journals published in Iran
DOAJ lists 1,100 open access journals whose publisher is based in Iran. 609 of them charge authors nothing — no APC and no other fees; 483 charge an APC; 8 do not state the fees. The longest-running no-fee titles:
| Journal | Open access since | Weeks to publication |
|---|---|---|
| Acta Medica IranicaMedicine (General) · EN | 1956 | 18 |
| گیاهپزشکیAgriculture (General) · FA | 1975 | 25 |
| Journal of Advanced Materials in EngineeringMaterials of engineering and construction · FA | 1987 | 12 |
| نشریه پرستاری ایرانNursing · FA | 1988 | 10 |
| پژوهش و برنامهریزی در آموزش عالیSpecial aspects of education · FA | 1993 | 8 |
Publisher country, fees, start year and weeks from submission to publication as each journal states them in its DOAJ record (CC0), read 16 October 2026. Where a journal is published says nothing about who may submit, and a DOAJ listing is not an indexing or quality ranking; check each journal's author guidelines. Confirm the fee on the journal's own site before you submit.
Three things that catch authors out
The waiver follows the corresponding author, not the paper
If a co-author abroad is listed as corresponding, the reduction is lost — even when the research and every other author sit in Iran. At Elsevier it goes further: all authors must be in the same group, and a mix of Group A and Group B authors brings a full waiver down to 50%.
Hybrid journals are excluded almost everywhere
Few publishers extend waivers to hybrid titles: IOP Publishing and the American Physical Society say explicitly that theirs do. Elsewhere the reduction usually applies to fully open access journals only, or the policy does not say. In a hybrid journal you can still publish at no cost under the subscription route — the article simply will not be open access.
Two publishers make you ask
Wiley, Sage, Elsevier and PLOS apply the reduction automatically. Taylor & Francis and Springer Nature require a request at submission. An author who waits for the system to notice pays in full.
What authors in Iran can still use
Checked on publishers’ and national bodies’ own pages, 3 October 2026
Iran is not on the Research4Life eligibility list, so waivers that Elsevier, Sage and PLOS tie to Research4Life do not apply automatically. Iran is not on the country lists of Taylor & Francis, Springer Nature (including BMC), Oxford University Press or Cambridge University Press either.
Lower prices in two pilots
- Springer Nature: in the 64 journals of its country-tiered pilot, authors in Iran pay 25% of the APC.
- Elsevier: in its pricing pilot of about 300 gold open access journals, Iran is in the “upper-middle income 1” band and pays 45% of the list APC.
Ask for a waiver — before you submit
Springer Nature, Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, Sage, Frontiers and PLOS consider individual requests from authors who cannot pay. Taylor & Francis offers the request at the Services stage of submission. Wiley says it may waive fees where payment infrastructure is a practical barrier.
Sanctions and paying the fee
US sanctions rules allow publishing with authors in Iran: the general licence at 31 CFR 560.538 covers transactions “ordinarily incident to publishing”, and Iranian academic and research institutions and their staff are not treated as the Government of Iran under it. Paying is the harder part, because international banks do not transact with Iran. Elsevier says it may grant extra waivers where trade sanctions stop it receiving payment. Ask the journal how you can pay before you submit.
Checking a journal from Iran
- ISC (isc.ac) keeps the list of cautionary and fake journals that the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology refers to. One of its criteria is charging authors for fast publication.
- ISC’s DOR system (dor.isc.ac) gives Iranian articles an identifier where a DOI cannot be obtained.
- IranDoc runs DOAJI, a directory of Iranian open access journals, and the Hamanandjoo plagiarism checker.
- SID (sid.ir) and Magiran (magiran.com) index Iranian journals.
Free-to-publish journals from Iran
DOAJ lists 1,084 journals published in Iran; 607 of them charge neither an APC nor any other fee. Many Iranian journals charge in two steps — a non-refundable submission or review fee, then a fee on acceptance — so read the fee page before you submit.
Sources for this section
- Research4Life — Eligibility
- Wiley — Open access waivers and discounts
- Wiley — waiver page as archived on 27 July 2026 (Iran listed)
- Wiley — waiver page as archived on 7 September 2026 (Iran not listed)
- Taylor & Francis — Eligible countries for APC waivers
- Springer Nature — APC waiver countries
- Springer Nature — Country-tiered APC pilot
- Elsevier — Pricing and Geographical Pricing for Open Access
- US eCFR — 31 CFR 560.538 (publishing general licence)
- Elsevier — Trade sanctions
- Learned Publishing (2026) — Iranian journal publishing
- ISC — Cautionary and fake journals
- ISC — DOR
- IranDoc — DOAJI
- SID
- DOAJ — Directory of Open Access Journals (data export of 1 July 2026)
Want us to check which journals waive the fee for authors in Iran? Free manual check. Ask for the free check →
Related
Sources for this page
- Wiley
- Wiley — Open Access Waivers and Discounts — checked 1 August 2026
- T&F
- Taylor & Francis — Eligible countries — checked 1 August 2026
- —
- Fully open access journals. Hybrid titles are noted separately in the table.
- —
- Where a publisher does not publish a country list, we say so instead of inferring one.
- No-fee journals
- DOAJ journal records (CC0), read 16 October 2026
Compare publisher policies
Waiver rules differ between publishers — who counts as the eligible author, whether hybrid journals are included, and whether you need to apply or it happens automatically.
ALL PUBLISHER POLICIES →