Journals published in the United States: who charges authors and how much
We read the fee pages of 139 journals published in the United States: 28 say on their own pages that authors pay nothing; 75 charge authors or sell optional open access; for 36 we found no clear statement. The 74 that publish a standard amount in US dollars charge 500–10,000 USD, median 3,072.50 USD.
How to read this page
This is a selection, not a census. DOAJ lists 1,302 journals published in the United States, 656 of them with no APC and no other fees. We picked the largest US-published open access journals that charge, the largest that do not, and well-known titles of US societies and publishers, then read each journal’s own page — or its publisher’s fee page — for what it says about author charges. The page address is recorded for every row, and we checked them all on 6 October 2026.
A journal is listed as charging nothing only where its own page says so. Where we found no statement, or could read only a search summary, it is listed as unclear, not as free. Amounts are list prices in the currency the journal states, before tax, waivers and institutional agreements. Journals that were already priced in our main list are included from that list.
What the examples show
Among the 74 journals with a standard US-dollar price, the cheapest charges 500 USD and the dearest 10,000 USD; half charge more than 3,072.50 USD. 10 of the charging titles are hybrid, with open access as an optional extra; in 5 of them the subscription route carries mandatory author charges too. Compare any figure with the NIH limit that has been proposed — see The proposed NIH limit and journals at or under $3,000.
Rules US authors work under
Read on the agencies’ own pages (several through archived copies where the live site blocks automated reading), checked 6 October 2026
NIH: public access without an embargo
- The updated NIH Public Access Policy was announced on 17 December 2024 and took effect on 1 July 2025 for manuscripts accepted on or after that date. It replaced the 2008 policy, which allowed an embargo of up to 12 months.
- An accepted manuscript must reach PubMed Central on acceptance and become public on the official publication date. It covers any peer-reviewed manuscript resulting from NIH funding in whole or in part, whether or not the principal investigator is an author.
- There are two routes: the author submits the accepted manuscript through the NIH Manuscript Submission system, or a journal with a formal agreement with the National Library of Medicine deposits the final article. Depositing is free.
- Publication costs, including APCs, are allowable when they meet NIH’s existing cost principles — the position before any cap.
NIH: a proposed limit on publication costs
On 8 July 2025 the NIH Director said the agency would cap allowable publication costs from fiscal year 2026. The only notice so far, NOT-OD-25-138, is a request for information released on 30 July 2025 with responses due on 15 September 2025; it floated options such as $2,000 per publication including APCs and other fees, with a proposed start of 1 January 2026. NIH’s Office of Science Policy said it had received over 900 comments and would issue a final policy in 2026. On 5 October 2026 we found no adopted cap on NIH’s public access page, but check the NIH Guide before you budget. Details and how the options compare with real prices: The proposed NIH limit.
Other federal funders
- The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy memo of 25 August 2022 asked agencies to make federally funded publications public without embargo or delay, to update their policies by 31 December 2025, and to let researchers budget reasonable publication costs.
- NSF: for awards made on or after 22 January 2026 the 12-month embargo no longer applies. Depositing the accepted manuscript in NSF’s Public Access Repository meets the requirement at no cost; fees for the published version are allowable but not required.
- Department of Energy: accepted manuscripts go to OSTI and DOE PAGES, and reasonable publication fees are allowable.
Checking a journal and finding support
- The PubMed Central journal list shows which journals have an agreement to deposit articles; NLM selects journals for MEDLINE through a documented application and evaluation process.
- The open policy finder (formerly Sherpa Romeo, run by Jisc in the UK) checks a journal against funder policies.
- University of California authors can check coverage in the California Digital Library’s Journal Open Access Lookup Tool; most UC agreements offer up to full coverage of open access fees and others a discount. The Big Ten Academic Alliance signed a two-year agreement with Springer Nature in May 2025 for unlimited open access in Springer’s hybrid journals for its authors.
Sources for this section
- NIH — Public access
- NIH — NOT-OD-25-047, Public Access Policy and NOT-OD-25-101, effective date
- NIH — NOT-OD-25-048, allowable costs
- NIH Director — statement on allowable publication costs, 8 July 2025
- NIH — NOT-OD-25-138, request for information
- NIH Office of Science Policy — public comment update
- OSTP — Public access memo, 25 August 2022
- NSF — PAPPG 24-1 Supplement 2
- Department of Energy — Public Access Plan
- PubMed Central — Journal list and NLM — MEDLINE overview
- Jisc — Open policy finder
- University of California — Publishing discounts and California Digital Library — Open access agreements
- Big Ten Academic Alliance — Springer Nature agreement
Journals that charge authors (75)
Amounts are the figures stated on the journal’s page. Conditions are summarised here; the full wording is in the data download.
| Journal | Publisher | ISSN | Fee | Conditions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cancer Discovery | American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) | — | 10,000 USD per article |
| source |
| Clinical Cancer Research | American Association for Cancer Research | — | 7,000 USD per article |
| source |
| PLOS Medicine | PLOS | — | 6,460 USD per article |
| source |
| Journal of Cell Biology | Rockefeller University Press | 1540-8140 | 6,000 USD per article |
| source |
| Journal of Experimental Medicine | Rockefeller University Press | 1540-9538 | 6,000 USD per article |
| source |
| The Journal of Clinical Investigation | American Society for Clinical Investigation | 1558-8238 | 5,800 USD per article |
| source |
| PLOS Biology | PLOS | — | 5,500 USD per article |
| source |
| Science Advances | American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) | — | 5,450 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| JCI Insight | American Society for Clinical Investigation | 2379-3708 | 5,000 USD per article |
| source |
| Physical Review X | American Physical Society | 2160-3308 | 4,685 USD per article |
| source |
| Journal of the American Chemical Society | American Chemical Society | — | 4,500 USD per article |
| source |
| mBio | American Society for Microbiology | 2150-7511 | 4,500 USD per article |
| source |
| mSphere | American Society for Microbiology | 2379-5042 | 4,500 USD per article |
| source |
| mSystems | American Society for Microbiology | 2379-5077 | 4,500 USD per article |
| source |
| Physical Review Letters | American Physical Society | 1079-7114 | 4,140 USD per article |
| source |
| JAMA Network Open | American Medical Association | 2574-3805 | 4,000 USD per article |
| source |
| eNeuro | Society for Neuroscience | 2373-2822 | 3,915 USD per article |
| source |
| Applied Physics Letters | AIP Publishing | — | 3,800 USD per article |
| source |
| Journal of Applied Physics | AIP Publishing | — | 3,800 USD per article |
| source |
| ASM Animal Microbiology | American Society for Microbiology | — | 3,700 USD per article |
| source |
| ASM Case Reports | American Society for Microbiology | — | 3,700 USD per article |
| source |
| ASM Food Microbiology | American Society for Microbiology | — | 3,700 USD per article |
| source |
| Genome Research | Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press | 1549-5469 | 3,700 USD per article |
| source |
| Microbiology Spectrum | American Society for Microbiology | 2165-0497 | 3,700 USD per article |
| source |
| Ecotoxicology and Environmental Safety | Elsevier | 1090-2414 | 3,630 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions | The American Phytopathological Society | 1943-7706 | 3,465 USD per article |
| source |
| Optica | Optica Publishing Group | — | 3,460 USD per article |
| source |
| PLOS Sustainability and Transformation | PLOS | — | 3,400 USD per article |
| source |
| Geophysical Research Letters | Wiley (for American Geophysical Union) | 1944-8007 | 3,190 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| PLOS Aging and Health | PLOS | — | 3,165 USD per article | — | source |
| PLOS Complex Systems | PLOS | — | 3,165 USD per article | — | source |
| PLoS Computational Biology | Public Library of Science (PLOS) | 1553-7358 | 3,165 USD per article |
| source |
| PLOS Digital Health | PLOS | — | 3,165 USD per article | — | source |
| PLOS Ecosystems | PLOS | — | 3,165 USD per article | — | source |
| PLoS Genetics | Public Library of Science (PLOS) | 1553-7404 | 3,165 USD per article |
| source |
| PLoS Pathogens | Public Library of Science (PLOS) | 1553-7374 | 3,165 USD per article |
| source |
| Health Science Reports | Wiley | 2398-8835 | 3,120 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| Journal of the American Heart Association: Cardiovascular and Cerebrovascular Disease | Wiley | 2047-9980 | 3,025 USD per article |
| source |
| Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Global Open | Wolters Kluwer | 2169-7574 | 2,965 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| Physical Review Research | American Physical Society | 2643-1564 | 2,910 USD per article |
| source |
| APL Materials | AIP Publishing | 2166-532X | 2,750 USD per article |
| source |
| PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases | Public Library of Science (PLOS) | 1935-2735 | 2,670 USD per article |
| source |
| Earth and Space Science | Wiley (for American Geophysical Union) | 2333-5084 | 2,650 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| PLOS Climate | PLOS | — | 2,596 USD per article | — | source |
| PLOS Global Public Health | PLOS | — | 2,596 USD per article | — | source |
| PLOS Mental Health | PLOS | — | 2,596 USD per article | — | source |
| PLOS Water | PLOS | — | 2,596 USD per article | — | source |
| The Journal of Neuroscience | Society for Neuroscience | 1529-2401 | 2,595 USD per article |
| source |
| American Journal of Public Health | American Public Health Association | 1541-0048 | 2,500 USD per article |
| source |
| Photonics Research | Optica Publishing Group | — | 2,500 USD per article |
| source |
| PLoS ONE | Public Library of Science (PLOS) | 1932-6203 | 2,477 USD per article |
| source |
| Optics Express | Optica Publishing Group | — | 2,300 USD per article |
| source |
| Optica Quantum | Optica Publishing Group | — | 2,265 USD per article |
| source |
| IEEE Access | IEEE | 2169-3536 | 2,160 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| IEEE Open Journal of the Communications Society | IEEE | 2644-125X | 2,160 USD per article |
| source |
| IEEE Photonics Journal | IEEE | 1943-0655 | 2,160 USD per article |
| source |
| SAGE Open | SAGE Publishing | 2158-2440 | 2,100 USD per article |
| source |
| Journal of Microbiology & Biology Education | American Society for Microbiology | — | 2,000 USD per article |
| source |
| ACS Omega | American Chemical Society | 2470-1343 | 1,935 USD per article |
| source |
| AIP Advances | AIP Publishing | 2158-3226 | 1,800 USD per article |
| source |
| IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Applied Earth Observations and Remote Sensing | IEEE | 2151-1535 | 1,800 USD per article |
| source |
| Research | American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Science Partner Journal | 2639-5274 | 1,800 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| Biomedical Optics Express | Optica Publishing Group | — | 1,775 USD per article |
| source |
| Optical Materials Express | Optica Publishing Group | — | 1,760 USD per article |
| source |
| Microbiology Resource Announcements | American Society for Microbiology | — | 1,500 USD per article |
| source |
| Western Journal of Emergency Medicine | eScholarship Publishing, University of California | 1936-9018 | 1,250 USD per article |
| source |
| Optics Continuum | Optica Publishing Group | — | 1,240 USD per article |
| source |
| Bio-Protocol | Bio-protocol LLC | 2331-8325 | 1,200 USD per article |
| source |
| Ecology and Society | Resilience Alliance | 1708-3087 | 1,160 USD per article |
| source |
| JACC: Case Reports | Elsevier | 2666-0849 | 850 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| Archives of Plastic Surgery | Thieme Medical Publishers, Inc. (for the Korean Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons) | 2234-6171 | 700 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| Radiology Case Reports | Elsevier | 1930-0433 | 660 USD per article · excl. VAT |
| source |
| Journal of Systemics, Cybernetics and Informatics | International Institute of Informatics and Cybernetics | 1690-4532 | 550 USD per article |
| source |
| Issues in Information Systems | IACIS | 1529-7314 | 500 USD per article |
| source |
| BioResources | North Carolina State University | 1930-2126 | 125 USD per page |
| source |
Journals that state they charge nothing (28)
Each journal below says on its own page that it charges authors nothing.
| Journal | Publisher | ISSN | What the page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Journal of Islam and Society | International Institute of Islamic Thought | 2690-3741 | Open access; print subscriptions available separately. | source |
| ARKIVOC | Arkat USA, Inc. | 1551-7012 | Platinum open access. | source |
| Computational Linguistics | The MIT Press | 1530-9312 | — | source |
| EDIS | University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries | 2576-0009 | — | source |
| Education Policy Analysis Archives | Arizona State University | 1068-2341 | Open access; authors help with final formatting of accepted articles. | source |
| Electronic Journal of Differential Equations | Texas State University | 1072-6691 | — | source |
| Emerging Infectious Diseases | Centers for Disease Control and Prevention | 1080-6059 | Open access, public domain journal; no fee for submitting or processing articles. | source |
| Greek, Roman, and Byzantine Studies | Duke University | 2159-3159 | Immediate open access. | source |
| Hipogrifo: Revista de Literatura y Cultura del Siglo de Oro | Instituto de Estudios Auriseculares (IDEA) | 2328-1308 | Page also says open access is immediate and without charge to authors and readers. | source |
| INNOVATIONS in Pharmacy | University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing | 2155-0417 | Immediate open access; CC BY-NC 4.0. | source |
| International Journal of Communication | USC Annenberg Press | 1932-8036 | No APC or submission charge; some post-acceptance corrections may incur fees. | source |
| International Journal of Medical Students | University Library System, University of Pittsburgh | 2076-6327 | Diamond open access; no charges to authors or readers. | source |
| JAMA | American Medical Association | 1538-3598 | Subscription journal; research articles become free access 6 months after publication. Statement concerns author fees for research articles. | source |
| Journal of Machine Learning Research | JMLR, Inc. | 1533-7928 | All papers freely available to readers. Print volumes (ISSN 1532-4435) sold separately by Microtome Publishing. | source |
| Journal of Modern Power Systems and Clean Energy | State Grid Electric Power Research Institute (sponsor, per journal site); distributed on IEEE Xplore | 2196-5420 | — | source |
| Journal of Statistical Software | Foundation for Open Access Statistics | 1548-7660 | — | source |
| Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning | Indiana University Office of Scholarly Publishing | 1527-9316 | — | source |
| Journal of World-Systems Research | University Library System, University of Pittsburgh | 1076-156X | — | source |
| Maine Policy Review | Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center, University of Maine | 2643-959X | — | source |
| Neutrosophic Sets and Systems | University of New Mexico | 2331-608X | Voluntary contributions to support journal operations are requested but optional. | source |
| Online Learning | Online Learning Consortium | 2472-5730 | Diamond open access, CC BY 4.0. | source |
| Pediatric Neurology Briefs | Pediatric Neurology Briefs Publishers | 2166-6482 | — | source |
| Physical Review Accelerators and Beams | American Physical Society | 2469-9888 | Fully open access, CC-BY 4.0, funded by contributions from sponsors. | source |
| Revista Panamericana de Salud Pública | Pan American Health Organization | 1680-5348 | Diamond open access, CC BY-NC-ND 3.0 IGO. | source |
| Studies in African Linguistics | LibraryPress@UF | 2154-428X | — | source |
| Transactions on Machine Learning Research | Transactions on Machine Learning Research (TMLR; jmlr.org / OpenReview) | 2835-8856 | All published content immediately free to the public. | source |
| Transformative Works and Cultures | Organization for Transformative Works | 1941-2258 | Online-only Diamond Open Access. | source |
| الفكر الإسلامي المعاصر | International Institute of Islamic Thought | 2707-5168 | Journal CITJ (Contemporary Islamic Thought Journal). | source |
No clear statement found (36)
These journals did not state a position we could verify. Do not read them as free.
| Journal | Publisher | ISSN | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACS Central Science | American Chemical Society | 2374-7951 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| ACS Nano | — | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Anesthesiology | American Society of Anesthesiologists (Wolters Kluwer) | — | Hybrid journal with an optional open access fee; the amount could not be read on the journal's page | source |
| Annals of Internal Medicine | — | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | — |
| Blood Advances | American Society of Hematology | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Brain and Behavior | Wiley | 2162-3279 | Only an outdated 2022 copy of the fee page could be read; no current amount | source |
| Cell | Cell Press (Elsevier) | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | — |
| Cell Reports | — | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | — |
| Circulation | — | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | — |
| Communications of the ACM | Association for Computing Machinery | — | The home page says the magazine is open access; the fee page could not be read | source |
| Cureus | Springer Nature (Cureus) | 2168-8184 | The page read lists no standard APC; it describes a paid Preferred Editing service for articles with many errors | source |
| Data in Brief | Elsevier | 2352-3409 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Foot & Ankle Orthopaedics | SAGE Publishing | 2473-0114 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Genes & Development | Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | — |
| Global Spine Journal | SAGE Publishing | 2192-5690 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Gut Microbes | Taylor & Francis Group | 1949-0984 | Fully open access since 2020; the amount could not be read on the journal's page | source |
| HemaSphere | Wiley (on behalf of European Hematology Association) | 2572-9241 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems | IEEE | — | IEEE publishes a general hybrid open access fee; the journal's own page does not state its open access status or amount | source |
| iScience | Elsevier / Cell Press | 2589-0042 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Journal of Biological Chemistry | — | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | — |
| Journal of Lipid Research | Elsevier | 1539-7262 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Journal of Political Ecology | University of Arizona Libraries | 1073-0451 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| MedEdPORTAL | Association of American Medical Colleges | 2374-8265 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Natural Product Communications | SAGE Publishing | 1555-9475 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine | SAGE Publishing | 2325-9671 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Pediatrics | American Academy of Pediatrics | — | Hybrid journal with an optional open access fee; the amount could not be read on the journal's page | source |
| PeerJ | PeerJ Inc. | 2167-8359 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| PeerJ Computer Science | PeerJ Inc. | 2376-5992 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences) | National Academy of Sciences | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Proceedings of the ACM on Programming Languages | — | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | — |
| Science | American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| Stroke | — | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| The Journal of Chemical Physics | AIP Publishing | 1089-7690 | AIP lists a portfolio-wide open access fee and says it may vary by journal; the journal's own page could not be read | source |
| The Journal of Immunology | — | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |
| The New England Journal of Medicine | — | — | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | — |
| Urological Science | Wolters Kluwer Health/LWW | 1879-5234 | The journal’s fee page could not be read automatically; check it on the journal’s site | source |