LanguageEnglishFrançaisالعربية

Publication fee waivers for authors in Algeria

Wiley applies a 50% reduction for corresponding authors in Algeria. Taylor & Francis does not list Algeria at all.

Publisher policies checked 1 August 2026

Algeria is covered by Wiley, not by Taylor & Francis

50%Wiley
—Taylor & Francis

Eligibility is read from the corresponding author's affiliation. Neither publisher applies these reductions to hybrid journals.

Every publisher we have checked

PublisherFor Algeria HybridHow it is applied
ElsevierResearch4LifeNot statedNoAutomatic
WileyResearch4Life50% offNoAutomatic
Taylor & FrancisWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceilingNot listedNoRequest required
Springer NatureWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceilingNot statedNot statedRequest required
SageResearch4Life; some journals use World Bank income levels insteadNot statedNoAutomatic
IOP PublishingWorld Bank income classNot statedYesAutomatic or on request
PLOSResearch4LifeNot statedNot statedAutomatic through the Global Equity agreement
Oxford University PressResearch4Life, EIFL and government affordability metricsNot statedNoAutomatic
American Chemical SocietyWorld Bank income class$965–$1,750NoAutomatic
AIP PublishingResearch4Life + World BankCase-by-caseNoRequest required
The Royal SocietyOpen Access EquityNo feeYesAutomatic
De Gruyter BrillWorld Bank + EIFL30% offPartialAutomatic
JMIR PublicationsWorld BankDiscount (all authors)n/a (OA)Request required
KargerCountry incomeRequest requiredNoRequest required
Emerald PublishingWorld Bank50% offNoAutomatic
AACRWorld BankPartialYesGeographic / case-by-case
eLifeCase-by-caseTypically coveredn/a (OA)Request required
PensoftIncome + career stageVaries by journaln/a (OA)Request required

Seven publishers publish a policy but not a country list. We record the rule and link to the source rather than guess which countries it covers.

No-fee journals published in Algeria

DOAJ lists 62 open access journals whose publisher is based in Algeria. 60 of them charge authors nothing — no APC and no other fees; 1 charge an APC; 1 does not state the fees. The longest-running no-fee titles:

JournalOpen access sinceWeeks to publication
Revue des Énergies RenouvelablesRenewable energy sources · FR, EN20016
Traduction et LanguesLanguage and Literature · EN, FR, DE, ES200212
مجلة العلوم و التكنولوجية للنشاطات البدنية و الرياضيةSports · FR, AR, EN20027
Les Cahiers du CREADSocial Sciences · EN, FR, AR200337
Annales du PatrimoineLanguage and Literature · FR, EN, AR200412

Publisher country, fees, start year and weeks from submission to publication as each journal states them in its DOAJ record (CC0), read 16 October 2026. Where a journal is published says nothing about who may submit, and a DOAJ listing is not an indexing or quality ranking; check each journal's author guidelines. Confirm the fee on the journal's own site before you submit.

Three things that catch authors out

The waiver follows the corresponding author, not the paper

If a co-author abroad is listed as corresponding, the reduction is lost — even when the research and every other author sit in Algeria. At Elsevier it goes further: all authors must be in the same group, and a mix of Group A and Group B authors brings a full waiver down to 50%.

Hybrid journals are excluded almost everywhere

Few publishers extend waivers to hybrid titles: IOP Publishing and the American Physical Society say explicitly that theirs do. Elsewhere the reduction usually applies to fully open access journals only, or the policy does not say. In a hybrid journal you can still publish at no cost under the subscription route — the article simply will not be open access.

Two publishers make you ask

Wiley, Sage, Elsevier and PLOS apply the reduction automatically. Taylor & Francis and Springer Nature require a request at submission. An author who waits for the system to notice pays in full.

Want us to check which journals waive the fee for authors in Algeria? Free manual check. Ask for the free check →

Related

Where the two lists disagree35 countries All countries110 profiles Publisher policies side by side48 policies How we check thisMethod

Sources for this page

Wiley
Wiley — Open Access Waivers and Discounts — checked 1 August 2026
T&F
Taylor & Francis — Eligible countries — checked 1 August 2026
—
Fully open access journals. Hybrid titles are noted separately in the table.
—
Where a publisher does not publish a country list, we say so instead of inferring one.
No-fee journals
DOAJ journal records (CC0), read 16 October 2026

Compare publisher policies

Waiver rules differ between publishers — who counts as the eligible author, whether hybrid journals are included, and whether you need to apply or it happens automatically.

ALL PUBLISHER POLICIES →