Publication fee waivers for authors in Namibia
Wiley and Taylor & Francis both apply a 50% reduction for corresponding authors in Namibia.
Publisher policies checked 1 August 2026
Namibia gets the same treatment at both publishers
Eligibility is read from the corresponding author's affiliation. Neither publisher applies these reductions to hybrid journals.
Every publisher we have checked
| Publisher | For Namibia | Hybrid | How it is applied |
|---|---|---|---|
| ElsevierResearch4Life | Not stated | No | Automatic |
| WileyResearch4Life | 50% off | No | Automatic |
| Taylor & FrancisWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceiling | 50% off | No | Request required |
| Springer NatureWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceiling | Not stated | Not stated | Request required |
| SageResearch4Life; some journals use World Bank income levels instead | Not stated | No | Automatic |
| IOP PublishingWorld Bank income class | Not stated | Yes | Automatic or on request |
| PLOSResearch4Life | Not stated | Not stated | Automatic through the Global Equity agreement |
| Oxford University PressResearch4Life, EIFL and government affordability metrics | Not stated | No | Automatic |
| The Royal SocietyOpen Access Equity | No fee | Yes | Automatic |
| Microbiology SocietyEIFL | No fee | Yes | Automatic |
| De Gruyter BrillEIFL (Brill) | No fee | Yes (Brill) | Automatic |
Seven publishers publish a policy but not a country list. We record the rule and link to the source rather than guess which countries it covers.
Three things that catch authors out
The waiver follows the corresponding author, not the paper
If a co-author abroad is listed as corresponding, the reduction is lost — even when the research and every other author sit in Namibia. At Elsevier it goes further: all authors must be in the same group, and a mix of Group A and Group B authors brings a full waiver down to 50%.
Hybrid journals are excluded almost everywhere
Of the eight publishers checked, only IOP Publishing extends waivers to hybrid titles. Elsewhere the reduction applies to fully open access journals only. In a hybrid journal you can still publish at no cost under the subscription route — the article simply will not be open access.
Two publishers make you ask
Wiley, Sage, Elsevier and PLOS apply the reduction automatically. Taylor & Francis and Springer Nature require a request at submission. An author who waits for the system to notice pays in full.
Related
Sources for this page
- Wiley
- Wiley — Open Access Waivers and Discounts — checked 1 August 2026
- T&F
- Taylor & Francis — Eligible countries — checked 1 August 2026
- —
- Fully open access journals. Hybrid titles are noted separately in the table.
- —
- Where a publisher does not publish a country list, we say so instead of inferring one.
Compare publisher policies
Waiver rules differ between publishers — who counts as the eligible author, whether hybrid journals are included, and whether you need to apply or it happens automatically.
ALL PUBLISHER POLICIES →