Publishers

Which publishers make waivers easiest

The publisher decides what you pay — and how hard it is to pay nothing. This ranks 32 publishers on the three things that decide whether a waiver actually reaches you: whose affiliation counts, whether hybrid journals are covered, and whether you must ask.

32publishers scored
13apply it automatically
15count only the corresponding author
2cover hybrid journals

The scorecard

#PublisherWhich author countsHybridAppliedBasisScore
1Annual ReviewsNo fee — free to alln/aNo chargeNone — Subscribe to Open (no APC for any author)free
2Open Library of HumanitiesNo fee — free to alln/aNo chargeNone — Library Partnership Subsidy (no APC)free
3SciELONo fee — free to alln/aNo chargeNone — publicly funded regional infrastructure (no APC)free
4Rockefeller University PressCorresponding authorYesAutomaticResearch4Life6/6
5European Respiratory SocietyCorresponding authorNot statedAutomaticEIFL partner countries5/6
6IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology)Corresponding authorNot statedAutomaticWaivers and Discounts country list (Research4Life-aligned)5/6
7IWA PublishingCorresponding authorNot statedAutomaticResearch4Life plus EIFL partner countries5/6
8PLOSInstitution (never the author)Not statedAutomaticResearch4Life5/6
9PNAS (National Academy of Sciences)Corresponding authorNot statedAutomaticOwn list of lower-income countries5/6
10ASBMB (Journal of Biological Chemistry)Not clearly statedNot statedAutomaticResearch4Life4/6
11American Society of Hematology (Blood)Not clearly statedNot statedAutomaticWorld Bank income class (GDP per capita, FY2025)4/6
12Cambridge University PressCorresponding author onlyNot statedAutomatic or on requestResearch4Life4/6
13EMBO PressCorresponding authorNot statedAutomatic or on requestResearch4Life, via the Springer Nature framework4/6
14Oxford University PressCorresponding author onlyNoAutomaticResearch4Life, EIFL and government affordability metrics4/6
15SageCorresponding author onlyNoAutomaticResearch4Life; some journals use World Bank income levels instead4/6
16WileyCorresponding author onlyNoAutomaticResearch4Life4/6
17ACMNot clearly statedNot statedAutomatic or on requestACM agreements with EIFL and Research4Life, plus the World Bank list of economies3/6
18African Journals Online (AJOL)Not clearly statedNot statedNot statedHosting platform, not a fee-setting publisher3/6
19BMCCorresponding authorNoAutomatic or on requestWorld Bank income classification, through Springer Nature3/6
20CSIRO PublishingNot clearly statedNot statedNot statedResearch4Life3/6
21IOP PublishingAll authors must qualifyYesAutomatic or on requestWorld Bank income class3/6
22MDPICorresponding author onlyNot statedRequest requiredMDPI internal classification, described as broadly aligned with Research4Life3/6
23Springer NatureCorresponding author onlyNot statedRequest requiredWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceiling3/6
24AOSISNeed-based, no country listNot statedRequest requiredCharge model; discretionary waiver only in exceptional circumstances2/6
25American Meteorological SocietyNeed-based, no country listNot statedRequest requiredNeed-based, no country list2/6
26ElsevierAll authors must qualifyNoAutomaticResearch4Life2/6
27IEEEAll authors must qualifyNoAutomaticWorld Bank GNI per capita2/6
28PeerJNot clearly statedNot statedRequest requiredWorld Bank income classification2/6
29Taylor & FrancisCorresponding author onlyNoRequest requiredWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceiling2/6
30Ubiquity PressNeed-based, no country listNot statedRequest requiredNeed-based, no central country list; some journals gate on World Bank lower-middle income2/6
31American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)Not clearly statedNoRequest requiredGeographic location plus demonstrated lack of other funding — no published country list1/6
32BMJAll authors must qualifyNot statedRequest requiredBMJ's own waiver list, built on low-income economies1/6

Green is the author-friendly answer, red the one that costs you. Score is out of 6 (2 points each for corresponding-author-only, hybrid coverage, and automatic application); diamond publishers charge nothing and sit above the scale.

How we score

Which author counts (0–2)

Corresponding-author-only or institution-based scores 2 — the waiver follows one clear affiliation. "All authors must qualify" scores 0, because one co-author abroad voids it. Need-based with no country list scores 1.

Hybrid coverage (0–2)

Extending the waiver to hybrid journals scores 2. Fully-OA-only scores 0. Not stated scores 1.

Applied (0–2)

Automatic scores 2; an author who does nothing still pays nothing. "Request required" scores 0 — miss the request and you are billed in full.

For publishers

Every score here comes from your own public policy page. If your policy has changed, or we have read it wrong, send a correction — we update within days and cite the source.

Fountain pen resting on an open handwritten notebook

Related

Full policiesEvery publisher, side by sideBarriersWhy a listed waiver still costs youCalculatorWhat you pay after a waiver