Pan African Medical Journal — publication fee waivers
Rather than a binary waiver, PAMJ builds a three-tier discount straight into its price list: African Union member-state authors pay the lowest tier, other low/middle-income authors pay a middle tier, and high-income-country authors pay the top tier. A further waiver on top of that can be requested but is described by the publisher as “rarely granted.”
Policy checked 29 September 2026
The policy in full
| Classification used | African Union membership plus World Bank 2021 income tiers — a three-tier price scale, not a classic waiver |
|---|---|
| Full waiver | No full waiver by default; a full or partial waiver can be requested but is “rarely granted” |
| Partial discount | Built into the price itself: AU member-state authors pay the lowest tier ($200–$300 depending on journal/article type), non-African low/middle-income authors pay a middle tier ($300–$500), high-income-country authors pay the top tier ($500–$700) |
| Which author counts | Not stated which author's country decides the tier (submitting author assumed) |
| Hybrid journals | Not stated |
| How it is applied | Discount is automatic via the tiered price list; a further waiver is on request only and rarely granted |
| When | APC requested on acceptance; waiver request made during submission |
| Scope | PAMJ Standard, PAMJ One Health, PAMJ Clinical Medicine, PHCP Journal |
Country list
This publisher states the rule but does not publish a single consolidated country list we could verify. We record the rule and link to the source rather than infer which countries it covers. If you know of a published list, tell us.
Source
Related
Check your country
Do you qualify for a fee waiver or discount? Enter your country to see which publishers offer reduced APCs for authors at your institution.
WAIVERS BY COUNTRY →