IdiomaEnglishFrançaisالعربيةEspañolPortuguêsРусскийУкраїнськаTürkçeفارسیاردوবাংলাKiswahiliአማርኛनेपालीසිංහලSrpskiO‘zbekchaМонгол
Publishers

Publisher waiver policies, side by side

Fifteen publishers, four classification systems, six different rules about which author counts. The differences are not cosmetic: they decide whether you pay nothing, half, or everything.

All policies checked 1 August 2026

15policies recorded
6rules about which author counts
1covers hybrid journals
12support the R4L guidelines

The policies

PublisherWhich author counts HybridApplied
ElsevierResearch4LifeAll authors must be in the same groupNoAutomatic
WileyResearch4LifeCorresponding author only, using the affiliation given at NoAutomatic
Taylor & FrancisWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceilingCorresponding author's primary affiliationNoRequest required
Springer NatureWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceilingCorresponding authorNot statedRequest required
SageResearch4Life; some journals use World Bank income levels instCorresponding authorNoAutomatic
IOP PublishingWorld Bank income classAutomatic when all authors are in an eligible countryYesAutomatic or on request
PLOSResearch4LifeInstitution, not the individual authorNot statedAutomatic through the Global Equit
Oxford University PressResearch4Life, EIFL and government affordability metricsCorresponding authorNoAutomatic
IEEEWorld Bank GNI per capitaAll authors must qualifyNoAutomatic
MDPIMDPI internal classification, described as broadly aligned witCorresponding author, assessed individuallyNot statedRequest required
PeerJWorld Bank income classificationSubmitting author for a single waiver; if every co-author Not statedRequest required
Cambridge University PressResearch4LifeCorresponding author of research articlesNot statedAutomatic, plus a discretionary ro
BMJBMJ's own waiver list, built on low-income economiesThe strictest set of conditions foundNot statedRequest required
ACMACM agreements with EIFL and Research4Life, plus the World BanAuthor location; ACM Open institutional licences are appliNot statedAutomatic for geographic waivers;
BMCWorld Bank income classification, through Springer NatureCorresponding authorNoAutomatic for the country route; r

Six rules about which author counts

RulePublishers
Corresponding author onlyThe affiliation given for the corresponding author at submission decides it. Co-authors elsewhere do not affect the outcome.Wiley, Taylor & Francis, Springer Nature, Sage, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, MDPI
All authors, same groupEvery author must sit in the same Research4Life group. A mix of Group A and Group B authors reduces a full waiver to 50%.Elsevier
All authors, or most on requestApplied automatically when all authors qualify. Granted on request when the corresponding author and a majority of co-authors qualify.IOP Publishing
All authors, lowest tier wins, one failure voids itIf entitlements differ between authors, the smallest applies. A single author in an ineligible country removes the discount entirely.IEEE
Institution, not the authorThe institution holds the agreement. Researchers at a covered institution are never charged.PLOS
All authors, plus where the research was done, plus funding statusEvery author must be in a listed country, the research must have been carried out in one, and it must be unfunded.BMJ

This is the single most consequential difference between publishers, and the one authors are least likely to check before choosing where to submit. Full answer.

Known policies not yet recorded

These publishers appear in Research4Life's index of APC waiver policies. We have the address but have not yet verified the terms, so we link rather than summarise.

Bristol University Presspolicy published, terms not yet recordedBritish Institute of Radiologypolicy published, terms not yet recordedCompany of Biologistspolicy published, terms not yet recordedCSIRO Publishingpolicy published, terms not yet recordedEDP Sciencespolicy published, terms not yet recordedRoyal Society of Chemistrypolicy published, terms not yet recordedCCSDpolicy published, terms not yet recorded

Source: Research4Life — Open Access titles with zero or reduced publication charges, checked 2026-08-05.