LanguageEnglishKiswahili

This translation is a draft and has not yet been reviewed by a native speaker. The English version is authoritative. English

Publication fee waivers for authors in Uganda

Wiley and Taylor & Francis both apply a 100% reduction for corresponding authors in Uganda.

Publisher policies checked 1 August 2026

Uganda gets the same treatment at both publishers

100%Wiley
100%Taylor & Francis

Eligibility is read from the corresponding author's affiliation. Neither publisher applies these reductions to hybrid journals.

Every publisher we have checked

PublisherFor Uganda HybridHow it is applied
ElsevierResearch4LifeNot statedNoAutomatic
WileyResearch4LifeNo feeNoAutomatic
Taylor & FrancisWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceilingNo feeNoRequest required
Springer NatureWorld Bank income class plus a GDP ceilingNot statedNot statedRequest required
SageResearch4Life; some journals use World Bank income levels insteadNot statedNoAutomatic
IOP PublishingWorld Bank income classNot statedYesAutomatic or on request
PLOSResearch4LifeNot statedNot statedAutomatic through the Global Equity agreement
Oxford University PressResearch4Life, EIFL and government affordability metricsNot statedNoAutomatic

Seven publishers publish a policy but not a country list. We record the rule and link to the source rather than guess which countries it covers.

Three things that catch authors out

The waiver follows the corresponding author, not the paper

If a co-author abroad is listed as corresponding, the reduction is lost — even when the research and every other author sit in Uganda. At Elsevier it goes further: all authors must be in the same group, and a mix of Group A and Group B authors brings a full waiver down to 50%.

Hybrid journals are excluded almost everywhere

Of the eight publishers checked, only IOP Publishing extends waivers to hybrid titles. Elsewhere the reduction applies to fully open access journals only. In a hybrid journal you can still publish at no cost under the subscription route — the article simply will not be open access.

Two publishers make you ask

Wiley, Sage, Elsevier and PLOS apply the reduction automatically. Taylor & Francis and Springer Nature require a request at submission. An author who waits for the system to notice pays in full.

Related

Where the two lists disagree35 countries All countries109 profiles Publisher policies side by side8 publishers How we check thisMethod

Sources for this page

Wiley
Wiley — Open Access Waivers and Discounts — checked 1 August 2026
T&F
Taylor & Francis — Eligible countries — checked 1 August 2026
Fully open access journals. Hybrid titles are noted separately in the table.
Where a publisher does not publish a country list, we say so instead of inferring one.